Gwynedd Archaeological
Trust Regional Historic Environment Record
Tumulus, Remains of, N of Barclodiad y Gawres
Primary Reference Number (PRN) : 3038 Trust : Gwynedd Community : Aberffraw Unitary authority : Ynys Mon NGR : SH32847086 Site Type (preferred type first) : BRONZE AGE PLATFORM CAIRN Status : Scheduled Monument
Description : A cairn about 65yds in circumference with five small upright stones of a central cist, but no cover. Two large stones on the S side may be remains of a curb. (RCAHMW, 1937)
The remains of a cairn consists of a low mound 0.5m high forming a platform 8m in diameter with a few large boulders in the centre. <2>
A small potsherd probably of Beaker type was found. No trace of bones or cremations were found. <3>
As described above in (<2>). <4>
SH 32837086 Cairn - noted by OS. <5>
On a low grassy, rounded coastal promontory adjoining Barclodiad y Gawres. Not situated on the most prominent part of the promontory but slightly back from it. Relatively low and not visually prominent, unlike Barclodiad. The cist stones are exposed, the rest is grassed over and stable. The possible kerb stones mentioned in 1937 are not visible but one stone exposed during excavation could be part of a kerb. The previous excavations were insufficient to make sense of the structure. (Smith, 2003)
The monument comprises the remains of a round barrow, a burial mound probably dating to the Bronze Age (c. 2300 BC - 800 BC) and situated on the summit of a locally prominent promontory overlooking Traeth Llydan to the NW. The grass-covered barrow is roughly circular on plan and measures about 11m in diameter and 0.5m in height. The barrow was partially investigated in 1956 (Powell & Daniel, 1956). <7>
Penycnwc. — This is on a projecting rock called Penycnwc, which forms one side of Trecastell Bay, which is about If mile south of Ty Croes Station. It suggests the remains of a chambered tumulus, now in great measure destroyed (Anwyl, 1908)
“Instead of a cromlech at Mynnedd Cnwc we found the vestiges of a large carnedd many of the flat stones of the cist faen or chamber are still remaining but the small ones have been almost all removed to build a wall close at hand.” (Skinner, 1802) (Sketch on p. 45).